9 October 2000 (A/55/466,S/2000/971)

Letter sent by Dr. Nasser Al-Kidwa, Ambassador and Permanent Observer of Palestine to the U.N., to the Secretary-General of the United Nations, the President of the Security Council and the President of the General Assembly: (More Martyrs in the Occupied Palestinian Territory)

In follow up to my three recent letters, dated 29 September 2000, 2 October 2000 and 4 October 2000(A/55/432/,S/2000/921;A/55/437,S/2000/930;A/55/450, S/2000/957), I regret to inform once more that Israel, the occupying Power, continues with its campaign of terror against the Palestinian people and continues to massacre and injure more and more Palestinian civilians. Israel, the occupying Power, continues to do so even after the adoption of the Security Council resolution 1322 (2000), of 7 October 2000.

In the period since my last letter until Sunday, 8 October 2000, Israeli security forces have killed 31 more Palestinians, bringing the total number of deaths to 76. (The names of the martyrs are annexed.) I would also like to bring to your attention that recently illegal Israeli settlers in the Occupied Territory have been committing criminal acts against Palestinian civilians. The settlers have repeatedly engaged in harassment, violence, and killings of Palestinian civilians, including the torture and murder of Mr. Issam Jodeh Hammad whom they killed on the night of Sunday, 8 October. His body was then dumped in an area close to Ramallah and was found today Monday, 9 October 2000. The Israeli security forces have also injured hundreds more Palestinians, many of whom remain in critical condition.

In addition to the above, I would also like to address the issue of Youssef’s Tomb near Nablus. It is important to note that Israel, the occupying Power, has effectively transformed the place into a military post. In the last few days, 18 Palestinians were killed by the Israeli security forces at that place, which explains the amount of anger felt by the population leading to the destruction that occurred after the withdrawal of the Israeli security forces. In any case, the Palestinian side has already taken action to repair the original part of the place and to provide for effective protection.

I am also compelled to bring to your attention the continuation of the horrible acts being committed against Israeli Arabs in Israel itself. A historic mosque in Tiberias, Galilee was desecrated and set ablaze, further escalating tensions. In Nazareth, a mob of 1000 Israelis attacked the inhabitants, killing two, which brings the number of deaths of Israeli Arabs to a total of 13 as well as the injury of many others.

It is imperative for the international community, especially the Security Council, to ensure compliance with Security Council Resolution 1322(2000) in a way that would ensure the end of the Israeli terror campaign and open the door for a better future.

Names of Martyrs killed by Israeli security forces

in the Occupied Palestinian Territory including Jerusalem

(Wednesday, 4 October 2000 to Sunday, 8 October 2000)


Tuesday, 3 October 2000

Ramez Abbas Bushnaq (name not included in letter of 4 October 2000)

Wednesday, 4 October 2000

  1. Sharif Faraj Ashour
  2. Mohammed Fawzi Al-Sirfi
  3. Mohmoud Al-Amwasi
  4. Mohammed Yussef Abu Assi (9 years old)
  5. Ala Hassan Al-Barghouti
  6. Ayman Akram Al-Lowh
  7. Mohanned Wadia Fares
  8. Mohmoud Lutfi Massed
  9. Arafat Mahmoud Al-Atrash

Thursday, 5 October 2000

  1. Salameh Saleh Ziadat
  2. Mahmoud Saleh Sbeiti
  3. Mustafa Mohmoud Al-Fararjeh

Friday, 6 October 2000

  1. Luai Abdullah Al-Mukayad
  2. Iyad Abed Al- Haleem Eshtaya
  3. Dhia Abed Al- Rahman Isa
  4. Mohammad Khalid Tamam
  5. Marwan Abdel Al-Razik Shamalakh
  6. Saleh Isa Al-Riyati
  7. Majdi Sameer Al-Muslamani (15 years old)
  8. Wajed Mussa Abu Awad
  9. Zuheir Rizik Darabiah
  10. Rashad Ismail Al-Najar

Saturday, 7 October 2000

  1. Mohammed Khalid Awad
  2. Hisham Ahmad Muqbil
  3. Fahed Mustafa Baker

Sunday, 8 October 2000

  1. Yussef Thiab Khalaf (17 years old)
  2. Abdel Al- Hameed Taya Zeq
  3. Omar Mohammed Akawi
  4. Wisam Hamdan Yazbuk
  5. Ali Sayel Swedan
  6. Issam Jodeh Hammad