H.E. Mr. Yasser Arafat, Chairman of the PLO Executive Committee, President of the Palestinian National Authority

Mr. Arafat founded the Palestine National Liberation Movement (Fateh) in the early fifties during his study in Egypt and later in Kuwait where he met with other co-founders of the Fateh movement. He led the Fateh movement from Jordan after its official announcement on 1 January 1965 and on two occasions had secretly entered and stayed in Palestine after the Israeli occupation of the West Bank and Gaza Strip in 1967. After the Al-Karameh battle between the Israeli army and Fateh fighters, in March of 1968, Fateh became the biggest Palestinian faction and later took the leadership of the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO).

Mr. Arafat's Fateh movement joined the PLO in 1968 along with other newly formed Palestinian organizations. In 1969 Mr. Arafat was elected Chairman of the Executive Committee of the PLO, succeeding Mr. Ahamd Al-Shukairy and Mr. Yahya Hammoudeh.

Following the signing of the "Declaration of Principles" agreement between the Government of Israel and the PLO, the Central Council of the organization accepted the agreement and chose Mr. Arafat as the President of the Council of the Palestinian Authority in its meeting which was held in Tunisia between 10 and 12 October 1993.

In July 1994, following the signing of the Cairo agreement, President Arafat returned to Gaza and Jericho after 27 years of living and leading his people from the Diaspora. On 20 January 1996, Mr. Arafat was elected, in the first Palestinian general elections by 83% of the votes, the President of the Palestinian National Authority.

President Arafat is also a Noble Peace Prize laureate. He shares the 1994 peace prize with Mr. Shimon Peres and the late Prime Minister of Israel Yitzhak Rabin.

Office of the President:

Mr. Al-Tayyeb Abdel Rahim, Secretary General
Tel: 07-282 4170 / 1
Fax: 07-282 4604

Mr. Ahmed Abdel Rahman, Cabinet Secretary
Tel: 07-282 4670

Mr. Nabil Abu Rudeineh, Advisor
Tel: 07-282 4670 /1/2

Mr. Ramzi Khouri, Director, President Office
Tel: 07-282 4670 /1/2
Fax: 07-282 2365 /6